Dentistry
طب الأسنان

Ospedale San Raffaele

الخصائص المتميزة

الخدمات السريرية:

  • جراحة الفم المتقدمة
  • زراعة الأسنان
  • جراحة إعادة التأهيل الخاصة
  • الأسنان الاصطناعية الثابتة والمتحركة والجمالية
  • اللثة
  • طب وأمراض الفم 
  • طب الأسنان المحافظ
  • اللبية
  • العلاج الطبيعي للفك السفلي وللعنق
  • صحة الفم والوقاية
  • طب أسنان الأطفال
  • تقويم الأسنان
  • Gnathology
  • طب الأسنان لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

الإجراءات المنفذة في السنة: 50،000

يغطي النشاط السريري لوحدة طب الأسنان جميع تخصصات طب الأسنان ، بدءًا من إعادة تأهيل وظيفة المضغ المضطربة إلى جماليات الابتسامة وعلم أمراض تجويف الفم ، بالإضافة إلى التشخيص المبكر لسرطان الفم. يتم إعطاء أهمية خاصة للوقاية ، وذلك بفضل مركز نظافة الفم والوقاية، الذي يهتم أيضًا بمتابعة جميع المرضى الذين يخضعون للعلاج في الوحدة وهو مسؤول عن الاعتراض المبكر عن طريق الاختبارات التشخيصية اللعابية ويوفر العلاج لأكثر أمراض الفم شيوعًا لدى الأطفال. لجميع العلاجات والإجراءات ، يتم استخدام الأدوات المتطورة ، مثل الليزر ، المجهر التشغيلي ، ماسح طبعة الأسنان وتقنية CAD-CAM لتصميم الطرف الاصطناعي المحوسب.

تضم وحدة طب الأسنان أيضًا دورة لدرجة الماجستير في طب الأسنان وتقويم الأسنان ، ودورة الشهادة في صحة الأسنان ، وأنشطة التدريس في عيادة طب الأسنان في كلية الطب والجراحة بجامعة سان رافاييلي فيتا-سالوتي ويتم تقديم برنامج الطب الدولي MD باللغة الإنجليزية.

 العلاجات

 جراحة الفم وزراعة الأسنان المتقدمة

تتعامل جراحة ما قبل الزرع المتقدمة مع تجديد الأنسجة من أجل إعادة الظروف المثالية لوضع غرسات متكاملة Osseo لدعم الأسنان الاصطناعية الجديدة. في الوقت الحاضر ، من الممكن إعادة بناء القواعد الهيكلية للعيوب الأفقية والرأسية من خلال تجديد العظام الموجه. إذا كانت عيوب العظام شديدة بشكل خاص (فيما يتعلق بكمية العيب أو التعقيد التشريحي) ، فمن الممكن اللجوء إلى ترقيع عظمي ذاتي (مأخوذ من نفس المريض) قادم من مواقع داخل الفم (زاوية وجسم الفك السفلي) أو من مقاعد خارج الفم (العظام الجدارية والحرقفية). تتمتع الوحدة بخبرة في التقنيات الطفيفة التوغل في إعادة التأهيل الغرسية التعويضية للضمور الفكي العلوي الوخيم عبر الغرسات المائلة والوجنية.

في هذا النوع من العمليات ، يتم استخدام أكثر طرق البحث ابتكارًا وأحدث التقنيات المدعومة بالكمبيوتر في المرحلتين الأكثر حساسية للمريض: التشخيص والعلاج الجراحي. يسمح التشخيص ، الذي يتم عن طريق الأشعة المقطعية ثلاثية الأبعاد ، بدراسة تشريح الفم بدقة مطلقة.  أما العمليات الجراحية وعمليات الزرع فيتم تصميمها بفضل البرامج التي تضمن للمريض الحد الأدنى من الغزو في المرحلة الجراحية ، للحصول على النتائج السريرية والجمالية القصوى. تسمى هذه المنهجية "زراعة الأسنان الموجهة". تسمح تقنيات زراعة الأسنان بوضع الأسنان الاصطناعية بدل سن واحد حتى إعادة تأهيل الفم بالكامل.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • ضمور الفكين
  • نقص العظام

أهم الإجراءات:

  • Minimally Invasive Prothesis Implantation
  • Bone Regeneration
  • Intraoral and Extraoral Bone Grafting
  • Elevation of the maxillary sinuses and nasal cavities with expansive methods that use osteotomes
  • Zygomatic Implantology
  • Osseo-integrated Implantology

 جراحة إعادة التأهيل المميزة

لقد رأت زراعة الأسنان المتكاملة في Osseo في السنوات الأخيرة تطورات جوهرية على صعيد المواد والاجراءت من كل نوع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن التقنيات المبتكرة مثل All-on-four / V-II-V / All-on-six والأنظمة المدعومة بالحاسوب قد قللت بشكل كبير من أوقات الانتظار ، وقبل كل شيء ، الانزعاج الذي يشعر به أولئك الذين يجب أن يتلقوا الأسنان الاصطناعية، وقد سهلت أيضا عمل المهنيين الذين يزرعونها. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجانب الثوري حقًا هو أنه من خلال هذه الأساليب ، أصبح من الممكن الآن lلإعادة إلى المرضى الذين يعانون من أسنان ضعيفة جداً ومسنة أسنانهم في يوم واحد فقط.

بروتوكول ALL-AT-ONCE نشط داخل الوحدة والذي بفضل التقنيات الجديدة ، يوفر إمكانية إجراء إعادة التأهيل الزرعي التعويضي لذوي الأسنان المسنة جداً في غضون 24 ساعة فقط أو في نفس وقت إدخال الزرع. يتم تنفيذ عمليات الزرع في غضون ساعات قليلة ، مما يسمح للمريض باستعادة الوظيفة المضغية والجمالية.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • إنعدام الأسنان الجزئي والكلي

أهم الإجراءات:

  • زرع الأسنان
  • إعادة التأهيل الزرعي التعويضي

طقم الأسنان الثابت والمتحرك والقابل للإزالة

تتبع وحدة طب الأسنان نهجًا متعدد التخصصات وتتعاون مع أطباء الأسنان المتمتعين بعقود من الخبرة والمتحدثين في المؤتمرات الوطنية والدولية ومؤلفو العديد من المنشورات العلمية. في هذا التعاون الوثيق والمستمر مع فريق من المتخصصين من قسم جراحة الفم وجراحة الزرع، يتم إجراء عمليات إعادة تأهيل جزئية وكاملة على الغرسات المتكاملة Osseo ، مع الاهتمام الدقيق بتحقيق النجاح الوظيفي والجمالي.

بفضل المعدات التكنولوجية المتقدمة ، تقدم أيضاً خدمة تصميم الابتسامة عبر التخطيط الرقمي للمرضى. يتعامل مختبر الأسنان مع كل ما يتعلق بأطقم الأسنان ، سواء الثابتة أو المتحركة ، المخصصة لكل فرد. يتم أيضًا تنفيذ عمليات إعادة التأهيل بمساعدة الكمبيوتر ، حيث يتم توجيه عملية الزرع بواسطة نموذج افتراضي ثلاثي الأبعاد مع نموذج جراحي مخصص بشكل فردي لوضع الغرسات بأمان ودقة.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • انعدام الأسنان
  • جمالية الابتسامة

أهم الإجراءات:

  • تصميم الابتسامة الرقمية
  • الزرع الجمالي لطقم الأسنان
  • طبع الأقواس الأسنانية بالتقنيات الرقمية

 اللثة

يتعامل علم أمراض اللثة مع تشخيص وعلاج أمراض اللثة ، عبر تجديد أنسجة اللثة المفقودة ، أو إذا تعذر ذلك, عبر استبدال السن بغرسة "فورية" أو "متأخرة". يتسبب تراكم اللويحة البكتيرية والجير على الأسنان ، بسبب سوء نظافة الفم ، في ظهور التهاب اللثة (gingivitis) الذي يتجلى في الاحمرار والتورم ونزيف الغشاء المخاطي اللثوي.

إذا لم تتم إزالة البلاك والجير ، فإن الالتهاب يزداد سوءًا مما يتسبب في التهاب اللثة (أو periodontitis) الذي يتميز بالإختراق العميق والنزيف وفقدان العظام وانحسار اللثة. والنتيجة هي التحرك التدريجي للأسنان حتى سقوطها.

في الأشكال الحادة من التهاب اللثة ، حيث تكون جيوب اللثة أكثر عمقًا ، من الضروري التدخل في شق اللثة (periodontal surgery) ، في حين يمكن علاج حالات الانكماش وفقدان الأنسجة العظمية باستخدام ترقيعات اللثة المأخوذة من الحنك مع استخدام تقنيات التجديد من خلال إدخال المواد الحيوية وبروتينات المحاكاة الحيوية وعوامل النمو والأغشية.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • التهاب اللثة

أهم الإجراءات:

  • تقنيات تغطية الجذور المكشوفة
  • تشخيص وعلاج أمراض اللثة والإلتهاب المحيط بالغرسة
  • جراحة اللثة

طب وأمراض الفم

يتركز نشاط قسم طب الفم على اضطرابات وأمراض الفم الغير متعلقة بالأسنان، وخاصة على تشخيص وعلاج أمراض الغشاء المخاطي للفم. النشاط في مجال علم أمراض الفم متعدد التخصصات ومنسق مع مجالات الطب المتخصصة الأخرى. طب الفم قادر على حل العديد من مشاكل صحة الفم المتعلقة بالأمراض العامة المرتبطة باضطرابات وإصابات تجويف الفم والتي تتداخل مع رفاهية المريض. الحالات التي تتطلب في كثير من الأحيان تشخيص وعلاج خبير طب الفم هي أمراض الفم الالتهابية المناعية مثل القرحة المتكررة، الحزاز المسطح الفموي ، الفقاع من الغشاء المخاطي للفم ، الفقاع والمظاهر الفموية للذئبة الحمامية والقرصية.

تعتبر الأمراض المرتبطة باللسان سببًا إضافيًا لشكاوى المرضى: الصدأ البكتيري المفرط، الالتهابات الفطرية ، الحروق المزمنة مثل متلازمة الفم الحارق, والخلل في إحساس الفم. الوحدة متخصصة أيضًا في الوقاية من السرطانات الفموية والكشف عنها مبكرًا ، من خلال التحكم في عوامل الخطر وتطبيق البروتوكولات التشخيصية والعلاجية ضد الأورام الحميدة, المحتملة التسرطن، مثل الطلاوة الجلدية والآفات الحمراء و / أو التآكلية المزمنة، والآفات المزمنة غير المشخصة.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة :

  • التهابات الفم والأورام
  • مشاكل الفم المحتملة التسرطن 
  • جفاف الفم

أهم الإجراءات:

  • الوقاية والتشخيص المبكر لأمراض الفم الورمية
  • استخدام تقنيات الليزر والبصريات الحديثة في تشخيص الأورام

 طب الأسنان المحافظ وأمراض اللبية أو حشو الأسنان

بسبب الالتهابات أو الصدمات, يخضع لب الأسنان لتحولات قابلة للعكس، يتم معالجتها عن طريق تدخلات محافظة (حشوات ، تطعيمات)، أو تدخلات دائمة توفر بدلاً من ذلك علاج قناة الجذر أو ، كما هو معروف على نطاق أوسع، إزالة الحيوية. الغرض من علاج قناة الجذر هو بلا شك السماح للمريض بالاحتفاظ بالسن الذي لم يعد حيويًا ولكن يمكنه الاستمرار بأداء جميع وظائفه.

إن استخدام الحشوات التي تم الحصول عليها من الراتنجات المركبة الجديدة ، المحملة بجزيئات البوليمر الزجاجي ، تجعل من الممكن الحصول على نتائج بمعايير عالية من الجودة الوظيفية والجمالية.

الترميمات التعويضية التي تستخدم الحشوات من الراتنجات المركبة أو البولي كربونات تلعب دوراً مهماً في طب الأسنان المحافظ. أنها تسمح باستعادة عناصر الأسنان ، وخاصة في المناطق الخلفية (الضواحك والأضراس) ، التي دمرها التسوس بشكل كبير ، دون الاضطرار إلى اللجوء إلى تقنيات الأسنان الصناعية التقليدية (التغليف مع راتنج الذهب أو التيجان الخزفية).

يسمح استخدام ميكروسكوب, إلى جانب المساهمة في النتيجة الجمالية, بعمليات تنفيذ وإنهاء، تلعب دورًا أساسيًا في نجاح الترميم على المدى الطويل.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • أمراض التسوس ولب الأسنان ، الصدمات ، الكسور والتقطيع

أهم الإجراءات:

  • إعادة بناء الأسنان بالمواد الجمالية

 تقويم الأسنان عند الأطفال والبالغين

تقويم الأسنان هو علم طب الأسنان الذي يتعامل مع التحكم في الأسنان وتطورها ونموها والتراكيب التشريحية المتعلقة بها. الهدف من تقويم الأسنان هو التحقيق والحفاظ على محاذاة صحيحة للأسنان، للأنسجة الرخوة الفموية وما حولها، وللعضلات الفموية المضغية ، من أجل تحقيق التطور الوظيفي لوجه الأسنان بالشكل الأفضل.

يتكون علاج تقويم الأسنان من مرحلة وقائية ، ومرحلة اعتراضية ، ومرحلة تقويم عظام ، وأخيرًا فترة علاج بتقويم ثابت يتبعها الضبط.

 الفريق مجهز بأحدث أنظمة التشخيص ، التي تم تطويرها على أسس أحدث الأبحاث العلمية ، والتي تسمح بإجراء فحوصات دقيقة لتقويم الأسنان. وتشمل هذه الأنظمة: البصمة ، التصوير الشعاعي عن بعد للجمجمة (latero-lateral projection)، والتصوير التقويمي لأقواس الأسنان، وأشعة الجيل الأخير بجرعة إشعاعية منخفضة، و- من الاكتشافات الحديثة جدًا - تحديد ذروة النمو الشخصي (اختبار وراثي).

  • المرضى الأطفال والمراهقين
  • من الممكن في الواقع تحديد الفترة الزمنية التي ستحدث فيها ذروة أقصى نمو للطفل / المراهق ، وذلك لتركيز العلاجات في ذلك الإطار الزمني، والتي ستكون بالتالي أكثر فعالية وأقل طولًا وبالتالي أقل تكلفة.

    يختلف العلاج باختلاف أعمار المريض. هناك ثلاث فئات عمرية قد يكون تدخل تقويم الأسنان ضروريًا فيها:

  • 0-6 سنوات من العمر: تبدأ مرحلة الوقاية بتعاون أخصائي تقويم الأسنان مع طبيب الأطفال وغيرهم ، وإنشاء فريق متعدد التخصصات (طبيب أنف وأذن وحنجرة ، وأخصائي أمراض الحساسية وما إلى ذلك) في هذه المرحلة ، من الضروري اعتراض العادات السيئة والشذوذ الوظيفي ، ومسارات الاندفاع الشاذة ومشاكل الهيكل العظمي الهامة وكذلك للعمل على تعزيز التطور الصحيح والمتناغم لأقواس الأسنان. يلعب تقويم الأسنان الاعتراضي وظيفة وقائية مهمة من حيث أنه يسمح في الوقت المناسب بتحديد بعض سوء الإطباق الشديد ، وتجنب تفاقم الحالة.
  • 6-12 سنة من العمر: يهدف علاج العظام ، الذي يجرى أثناء ذروة النمو ، إلى تعديل التنافر الهيكلي إن أمكن. يمكن للأجهزة المستخدمة في هذه المرحلة أن تكون متحركة (والتي يمكن للطفل وضعها وخلعها بمفرده بسهولة) أو ثابتة. الهدف من هذه المرحلة هو تحفيز و / أو كبح نمو الفك العلوي أو الفك السفلي لاستعادة الانسجام الهيكلي.
  • أكثر من 12 عامًا: يهدف العلاج بالمعدات الثابتة إلى تحقيق محاذاة مثالية للأسنان ، بعد حل مشكلة الهيكل العظمي.

 

  • المرضى البالغين

من الضروري تعديل الاحتياجات العلاجية والتكيف مع الاحتياجات الجمالية للمرضى في مرحلة البلوغ. تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، قمنا بتصميم وإنتاج أجهزة غير مرئية عملياً يرغب الكبار في ارتدائها ، تسمح بنظافة جيدة، ولا تؤثر على صياغة الكلمات، وبالتالي على الحياة الاجتماعية والعملية. بفضل أجهزة تقويم الأسنان غير المرئية، من الممكن إعادة تنظيم الأسنان تدريجيًا وبشكل فعال دون الإخلال بالعادات الاجتماعية وتناول الطعام ، والحصول على نتائج ممتازة تدوم مع مرور الوقت.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • مراقبة وتطور ونمو الأسنان والتركيبات التشريحية
  • سوء الإطباق عند الأطفال والمرضى البالغين

أهم الإجراءات:

  • علاج سوء الإطباق عند الأطفال والبالغين ، أيضًا باستخدام نماذج غير مرئية
  • إعادة تنظيم الأسنان ، أيضًا مع قوالب غير مرئية

علم جهاز المضغ/ العلاج الفيزيائي للفك والرقبة

يتعامل هذا المجال مع اضطرابات جهاز المضغ مثل المفصل الصدغي الفكي (التقاطع بين الفك والجمجمة) والعضلات ودعامات أقواس الأسنان ، مما يحد في كثير من الحالات من جودة حياة المريض بسبب الألم الذي يحدث أثناء حركات المضغ ، مما يؤدي إلى استحالة فتح الفم تمامًا في الحالات الأكثر شدة. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الاتصال غير الطبيعي بين أقواس الأسنان يمكن أن يولد أو يكون نتيجة تعويضات الهيكل العظمي ، حتى ظهور مشاكل ألمية (الرقبة و / أو الظهر والصداع).

علاج هذه المشاكليكمن في معدات من الراتنج تستخدم ليلاً (تخفيف الضغط عن اللدغة) أو أجهزة مستمرة لمدة 24 ساعة (مثبتات جبيرة). يهدف تخفيف الضغط على اللدغة إلى تقليل الضغط على بنية العضلات المفصلية ، في حين أن المثبتات الجبيرة تخدم أغراض علاجية تشخيصية, تحفز وضع الفك السفلي الجديد لاستخدامه بعد حل الأعراض. يتم إيلاء اهتمام خاص للوقاية من العوامل التي تتفاعل لتشكيل اضطرابات المفصل الصدغي الفكي.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • المشاكل المضغية (صرير الأسنان)
  • سوء الإطباق
  • الوضعيات الغير جيدة

أهم الإجراءات:

  • علاج مشاكل العنق وجهاز المضغ من خلال أجهزة خاصة لتقويم العظام والأسنان

طب أسنان الأطفال

يتعامل هذا القسم من وحدة طب الأسنان مع الوقاية وعلاج الأسنان من السنوات الأولى من الحياة إلى مرحلة المراهقة. دورها الأساسي هو الوقاية من أي أمراض في الفم في مرحلة النمو بالتعاون الوثيق مع وحدات طب الأطفال الأخرى. يعتبر أمرًا أساسيًا الحوار مع طبيب الأطفال وأخصائي الأنف والأذن والحنجرة والطبيب النفساني وlلعالم النفسي وأي أخصائي آخر يتبع أي أمراض للطفل، لأن التعاون يعطي نتائج أفضل. عند رعاية الأطفال، من الضروري القيام بذلك معًا وبأسرع وقت ممكن: تكون الزيارة الأولى مفيدة في حوالي عامين من العمر ، وفقًا للمبادئ التوجيهية الأوروبية والدولية.

في عمر السنتين ، تكون جميع المشاكل صغيرة (تسوس الأسنان وسوء الإطباق) ، ولكن قبل كل شيء يشفى الطفل بسرعة ويستأنف نموه الصحي الذي سيرافقه طول حياته. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه من أجل علاج أطفال صغيرين جداً، من الضروري تهيئة البيئة المناسبة سواء من حيث الحوار (التعاون مع الأخصائيين النفسيين للأطفال) وإتاحة إمكانية إجراء العلاجات الأكثر تعقيدًا مع التخدير الدوائي وفي المستشفى النهاري.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • وقاية أمراض الفم
  • التسوس المبكر
  • التهاب اللثة
  • المحاذاة غير صحيحة للأسنان وأقواس الأسنان

أهم الإجراءات:

  • التسوس المبكر وعلاج سوء الإطباق
  • مراقبة تبدل أسنان الحليب
  • تقنية "Tell-show-do"

 نظافة الفم والوقاية 

إن مركز صحة الفم والوقاية مكرس لتطبيق علاجات محددة للوقاية ولعلاج أمراض اللثة، وكذلك لتنفيذ بروتوكولات الوقاية من التسوس المخصصة والمحددة من سن المراهقة إلى مرحلة البلوغ. يتم إيلاء اهتمام خاص للعلاجات التجميلية ، مع اعتماد طرق تبييض الأسنان المهنية في كل من الوحدة (باستخدام مصابيح الليزر و / أو مصابيح الهالوجين) ، وفي المنزل (أقنعة فردية). ينشط المركز التجريبي أيضًا في متابعة عمليات إعادة تأهيل الأسنان الاصطناعية الأقل بضعاً (all on four" & "all on six" techniques").

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • الوقاية والعلاج من أمراض اللثة

أهم الإجراءات:

  • تقنيات مبتكرة لتبييض الأسنان (ضوء الليزر أو الهالوجين) ونظافة الفم

طب الأسنان لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة

 يتعامل مركز San Luigi Ville Turro لطب الأسنان (جزء من مستشفى سان رافاييلي)، تحت إدارة البروفيسور Enrico Gherlone، بشكل رئيسي مع طب الأسنان للعناية الخاصة (Special Care Dentistry)، وهو فرع طب الأسنان المخصص للأشخاص ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة: المرضى الذين يعانون من إعاقات ذهنية ، والمرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض مزمنة تقلل من الحركة والتعاون ، والأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض تجعل علاج الأسنان دقيق وحرج، والمحرومين اجتماعيا. الغرض من طب الأسنان الخاص هو السماح بمعالجة هؤلاء المرضى على بمساواة مع بقية المرضى، والسماح بتنفيذ خطة علاج طبيعية.

يتم إيلاء اهتمام خاص لزيارات الفحص لأمراض الفم عند المرضى المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية، بالتعاون مع وحدة الأمراض المعدية.

الأمراض الرئيسية المعالجة:

  • إعادة تأهيل منطقة العنق والوجه عند المرضى الذين خضعوا لعمليات نتيجةً لأمراض خبيثة
  • التركيز على المرضى الذين يعانون من مشاكل صحية عامة أو إعاقات شديدة قد تعوق العلاج التقليدي ، واعتماد المساعدة الطبية الشخصية في مراحل ما قبل وبعد الجراحة مع إحتمال التخدير في نهاية المطاف

معدات تقنية متقدمة ملحوظة

  • 5 Leica Operating Microscopes
  • Diode Laser
  • CEREC CAD-CAM chairside systematic (Intraoral scanner, grinding and milling unit, sintering furnace)
  • Argon-Plasma Reactor
اكتشف التخصصات الطبية الأخرى في Ospedale San Raffaele
- Arrhythmology and Electrophysiology
علم اضطرابات النظم والفيزيولوجيا الكهربية للقلب

- Bariatric Surgery
جراحة علاج البدانة

- Breast Imaging
تصوير الثدي

- Breast Surgery
جراحة الثدي

- Cardiac Surgery
جراحة القلب

- Clinical Cardiology
أمراض القلب السريرية

- Dermatology and Cosmetology
الأمراض الجلدية والتجميل

- Gastroenterology and Digestive Endoscopy
أمراض الجهاز الهضمي والتنظير الهضمي

- Gastrointestinal Surgery
جراحة الجهاز الهضمي

- General and Emergency Surgery
الجراحة العامة والطارئة

- General Medicine
الطب العام

- Gynaecology Obstetrics and Reproductive Medicine
طب التوليد والطب التناسلي

- Haematology and Bone Marrow Transplantation
أمراض الدم وزرع نخاع العظام

- Hepatobiliary Surgery Unit
وحدة جراحة الكبد والقنوات الصفراوية

- Immunology, Rheumatology, Allergy and Rare Diseases
أمراض المناعة، الروماتيزم، الحساسية والأمراض النادرة

- Interventional Cardiology
طب القلب التداخلي

- Nephrology and Dialysis
أمراض الكلى والغسيل الكلوي

- Neurology and Neurorehabilitation
الأمراض العصبية وإعادة التأهيل العصبي

- Neurosurgery
جراحة الدماغ والأعصاب

- Nuclear Medicine
الطب النووي

- Oncology
علم الأورام

- Ophthalmology Unit
وحدة طب وجراحة العيون

- Otorhinolaryngology
طب الأنف والأذن والحنجرة

- Paediatric Immunohaematology
أمراض الدم والأمراض المناعية عند الأطفال

- Paediatrics
طب الاطفال

- Pancreatic Surgery
جراحة البنكرياس

- Radiotherapy
العلاج الإشعاعي

- Rehabilitation and Functional Recovery
إعادة التأهيل والشفاء الوظيفي

- Reproductive Medicine
الطب التناسلي

- Thoracic Surgery
جراحة الصدر

- Transplant Medicine
طب الزرع

- Urology Unit
وحدة المسالك البولية

- Vascular Surgery
جراحة الأوعية الدموية

Dentistry

Ospedale San Raffaele

key figures 

CLINICAL SERVICES:

  • Advanced Oral Surgery
  • Implantology
  • Special Rehabilitation Surgery
  • Fixed, mobile and aesthetic prosthesis  
  • Periodontology
  • Oral Medicine and Pathology
  • Conservative Dentistry
  • Endodontics
  • Mandibular and Cervical Physiotherapy
  • Oral Hygiene and Prevention
  • Paediatric Dentistry
  • Orthodontics
  • Gnathology
  • Special Needs Dentistry

PROCEDURES PERFORMED PER YEAR: 50,000

The clinical activity of the Dentistry Unit covers all dental disciplines, from rehabilitation of the compromised masticatory function to smile aesthetics, medicine and pathology of the oral cavity, as well as early diagnosis of oral cancer. Particular importance is given to the prevention, thanks to the center of Oral Hygiene and Prevention, which also manages the follow-up of all patients undergoing treatment at the Unit and is in charge of early interception by means of salivary diagnostic tests and provides treatment of the most common paediatric oral diseases. For all treatments and procedures, cutting-edge instruments are used, such as laser, operating microscope, dental impression scanner and CAD-CAM technology for computerized prosthesis design.

The Dentistry Unit is also home to the Master's Degree Course in Dentistry and Dental Prosthetics, the Degree Course in Dental Hygiene, and the teaching activity of the Dental Clinic at the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery of the San Raffaele Vita-Salute University and the International MD Medicine Program offered in English.

 

treatmentS

Advanced Oral Surgery and Implantology

The advanced pre-implant surgery deals with tissue regeneration in order to recreate the ideal conditions for the positioning of Osseo-integrated implants to support new prosthetic dental elements. Nowadays it is possible to reconstruct the skeletal bases for horizontal and vertical defects through guided bone regeneration. If the bone defects are particularly severe (in relation to the amount of the defect or the anatomical complexity) it is possible to resort to autologous bone grafts (taken from the same patient) and coming from intraoral sites (angle and mandibular body) or from extraoral seats (parietal and iliac bone). The Unit has expertise in minimally invasive techniques in implant-prosthetic rehabilitation of severe maxillary atrophy with tilted and zygomatic implants.  

In this type of operations, the most innovative research methods and the most advanced computer-assisted technologies are used in the two most delicate phases for the patient: diagnostics and surgical therapy. The diagnosis, performed by 3D CT scan, allows to study with absolute precision the oral anatomy. Surgical and implant operations are instead designed thanks to software that guarantee the patient the minimum of invasion in the surgical phase, in the face of maximum clinical and aesthetic results. This methodology is called "guided implantology". The implantology techniques allow the realization of prostheses of a single tooth up to the rehabilitation of an entire mouth.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Maxillary Atrophy
  • Bone Deficiency

Top Procedures:

  • Minimally Invasive Prothesis Implantation
  • Bone Regeneration
  • Intraoral and Extraoral Bone Grafting
  • Elevation of the maxillary sinuses and nasal cavities with expansive methods that use osteotomes
  • Zygomatic Implantology
  • Osseo-integrated Implantology

Special Rehabilitation Surgery

The Osseo-integrated implantology in recent years has been the protagonist of substantial developments on the front of both materials and procedures of any kind. In addition, innovative techniques such as All-on-four / V-II-V / All-on-six and computer-assisted systems have substantially reduced waiting times and, above all, the discomfort felt by those who must receive the prosthesis, also facilitating the work of professionals who must apply it. The really revolutionary aspect, however, is that with these methods it is now possible to return to most patients with seriously compromised or edentulous teeth a fixed dentition in just one day.

The ALL-AT-ONCE protocol is active within the Unit which, thanks to the new technologies, offers the possibility to perform implant-prosthetic rehabilitation of edentulous patients in just 24 hours or at the same time of implant insertion. The implants insertion and the delivering of the prosthesis are performed in a few hours, allowing the patient to recover masticatory and aesthetic function.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Partial and Complete Edentulism

Top Procedures:

  • Prothesis Implantation
  • Implant-Prosthetic Rehabilitation

Fixed, mobile and removable prosthesis

The Dentistry Unit has a multidisciplinary approach and collaborates with dental professionals with decades of experience, speakers in national and international conferences on the subject, and authors of numerous works and scientific publications. In this close and continuous collaboration with the team of specialists from the Oral Surgery and Implant Surgery division, partial and complete arches rehabilitations are performed on Osseo-integrated implants, with scrupulous attention to the achievement of both functional and aesthetic success.

Thanks to advanced technological equipment, smile design with digital planning is also available to patients. The dental laboratory deals with all the work related to dental prothesis, both fixed and mobile types, customized on each individual. Computer-aided rehabilitations are also performed, in which the insertion of the implants is guided by a virtual-three-dimensional model with an individually customised surgical template for the placement of the implants safely, precisely, and accurately.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Edentulism
  • Aesthetic of the Smile

Top Procedures:

  • Digital Smile Design
  • Aesthetic prosthesis Implantation
  • Impession of dental arches by digital techniques

Periodontology

Periodontology deals with the diagnosis and treatment of periodontal disease, regenerating the lost periodontal tissue or, where it is not possible, replacing the tooth with an "immediate" or "delayed" implant. Accumulation of bacterial plaque and tartar on the teeth, caused by poor oral hygiene, causes the appearance of inflammation of the gums (gingivitis) which manifests with redness, swelling and bleeding of the gingival mucosa.

If plaque and tartar are not removed, the inflammation worsens causing periodontitis (or pyorrhoea) that is characterized by high probing depths, bleeding, bone loss and gingival recessions. The consequence is the progressive mobility of the teeth until their loss.

In severe forms of periodontitis, where the gingival pockets are more profound, it is necessary to intervene with the incision of the gums (periodontal surgery), while recessions and loss of bone tissue can be treated by using gingival grafts taken from the palate with the use of regeneration techniques through the insertion of biomaterials, biomimetic proteins, growth factors and membranes.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Periodontitis

Top Procedures:

  • Periodontal techniques for the covering of exposed roots
  • Diagnosis and treatment of periodontal diseases and peri-implantitis
  • Periodontal Surgery

Oral Medicine and Pathology

The activity of the Oral Medicine division is centered on disturbances and non-oral dental diseases, in particular on the diagnosis, treatment and cure of pathological conditions and diseases of the oral mucosa. The activity in the field of Medicine and Oral Pathology is multidisciplinary and harmonized with the other specialized fields of medicine. Oral Medicine is able to solve many of the problems of oral health related to general diseases associated with symptoms, disorders and injuries that involve the oral cavity and interfere with the well-being of the patient. The conditions that most frequently require diagnosis and treatment of the oral medicine expert are inflammatory and immunopathological oral diseases such as recurrent ulcers, oral lichen planus, pemphigoid of the oral mucosa, pemphigus and the oral manifestations of lupus erythematosus and discoid.

Tongue related diseases are a further cause of very troublesome patient complaints: excessive bacterial patina, fungal infections, chronic burns such as burning mouth syndrome and oral dysesthesia. The Unit is also specialized in the prevention and early detection of oral cancers, through the control of risk factors and the application of rational diagnostic and therapeutic protocols against benign tumours, possibly precancerous lesions, such as leucoplakia and chronic red and / or erosive lesions, long-undiagnosed lesions.

Main Pathologies treated:

  • Oral Infections and Neoplastic Diseases
  • Oral precancerous and dry mouth problems

Top Procedures:

  • Prevention and early diagnosis of neoplastic oral diseases
  • Use of modern laser and optical technologies, also for tumours diagnosis

Conservative dentistry and Endodontics

Because of inflammatory processes or traumatic events, the dental pulp undergoes reversible transformations, cured by conservative (fillings, inlays), or irreversible interventions that instead provide root canal therapy or, as it is more widely known, devitalization. The purpose of root canal therapy is undoubtedly to allow the patient to retain the tooth which can then continue, no longer vital, to perform all of its functions.

The use of fillings obtained from new composite resins, loaded with glass-polymer particles, make it possible to obtain results with a high standard of both functional and aesthetic quality.

Prosthetic restorations that use fillings in composite or polycarbonate resins are of great interest for conservative activity. They allow the recovery of dental elements, especially of the posterior areas (premolars and molars), also significantly destroyed by carious processes, without having to resort to traditional prosthetic techniques (encapsulation with gold-resin or ceramic crowns).

The use of the operating microscope allows an execution and a finishing that, besides contributing to the aesthetic result, plays a fundamental role in the long-term success of the restorations.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Caries and Dental Pulp Pathologies, Trauma, Fractures and Chipping

Top Procedures:

  • Dental Reconstructions with Aesthetic Materials

 Orthodontics in Paediatric and Adult Patients

Orthodontics (from the Greek "ortos" upright and "odontos" tooth) is the medical science, within the field of dentistry, which deals with the control, development and growth of the teeth and the anatomical structures related to it. The aim of orthodontics is the achievement and maintenance of a correct alignment of the teeth, of the oral and perioral soft tissues, of the oro-masticatory musculature, for the achievement of a dento-facial morpho-functional development as best as possible.

Orthodontic therapy consists of a preventive phase, an interceptive phase, an orthopaedic phase, and finally a treatment period with fixed orthodontics followed by a restraint.

This team is equipped with cutting-edge diagnostic systems, developed on the basis of the latest scientific research, which allow accurate orthodontic check-ups. These include the fingerprint, the teleradiography of the skull in latero / lateral projection, the orthopantomography of the dental arches, the radiology of the latest generation with low radiant dose, and - of very recent discovery - the identification of the personal growth peak (genetic test).

  • Paediatric and Adolescent Patients

It is in fact possible to define the time span in which the peak of maximum development of the child / adolescent will occur, so as to concentrate it that timeframe the treatments, which will therefore be more effective, less long and consequently less expensive.

Therapy varies in different ages of the patient. There are three age groups in which the orthodontist's intervention may be necessary:

  • 0-6 years of Age: The prevention phase starts with the collaboration of the Orthodontist with the Paediatrician and others, creating a multidisciplinary team (Otolaryngologist, Physiatrist, Allergologists etc.) In this phase it is necessary to intercept the bad habits, functional anomalies, anomalous eruptive pathways and important skeletal problems as well as to work to promote a correct and harmonious evolution of the dental arches. The interceptive Orthodontics plays an important preventive function in that it allows to identify in time some severe malocclusions, avoiding the worsening of the situation.
  • 6-12 year of Age: Orthopaedic therapy, to be performed during peak growth, aims to modify skeletal disharmony if possible. The devices used in this phase can be mobile (which the child can easily put on and take off alone) or fixed. The goal of this phase is to stimulate and / or restrain the growth of the maxilla or mandible to restore skeletal harmony.
  • Over 12 years of Age: The therapy with fixed equipment has as its objective the achievement of an ideal alignment of the teeth, after the skeletal problem has been solved and mitigated.
  • Adult Patients

It is necessary to modulate the therapeutic needs by adapting to the aesthetic needs of patients in adulthood. To this end we have designed and produced virtually invisible devices that adults are willing to wear, that allow good hygiene, do not affect the articulation of words, and consequently the social and working life. Thanks to the invisible Orthodontics devices it is possible to realign the teeth gradually and effectively without upsetting the social habits and food intake, obtaining excellent results that last over time.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Control, Development and Growth of the teeth and the anatomical structures
  • Malocclusions in paediatric and adult patients

Top Procedures:

  • Treatment of malocclusions in paediatric and adult age, also with invisible templates
  • Teeth realignment, also with invisible templates

 Gnathology/Mandibular and Cervical Physiotherapy

This field deals with disorders of the masticatory apparatus such as the temporomandibular joint (junction between the jaw and skull), muscles and support of the two dental arches, which in many cases limit the patient's quality of life due to the pain that is generated during masticatory movements, leading to the impossibility to open the mouth completely in more severe cases. Moreover, the abnormal contact between the dental arches can generate or be the effect of skeletal compensations, until the appearance of algic problems (neck and / or back and headaches).

The treatment of these problems makes use of resin nocturnal equipment (bite decompression) or continuous 24 hours devices (splint stabilisers). The bite decompression aims to minimize the pressure put on the articular muscle structure, while the splint stabilisers serve diagnostic therapeutic purposes, stimulating a new mandibular position to be used after the resolution of the symptomatology. Particular attention is paid to the prevention of factors that interact to determine the TMJ disorders.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Masticatory parafunctions (bruxism and window)
  • Malocclusions
  • Postural vices

Top Procedures:

  • Treatment of cervical and gnathological problems with realization of orthopaedic and orthodontic specific devices

Paediatric Dentistry

This section of the Dentistry Unit deals with prevention and dental therapy from the first years of life to adolescence of patients. Its primary role is the prevention of any pathology of the mouth in the developmental age in close collaboration with other paediatric Units. Dialogue is fundamental with the paediatrician, the otorhinolaryngologist, the physiatrist, the psychologist and any other professional who follows any pathologies of the child, because collaboration gives better results. When caring for children, it is necessary to do so together and as soon as possible: the first visit is beneficial to be done around two years of age, according to European and international guidelines.

At two years of age all the problems are small (dental caries and malocclusions), but above all the child heals quickly and resumes healthy growth that will accompany his whole life. It must be noted that in order to bring children so small, it is necessary to prepare the right environment both in terms of dialogue (collaboration with child psychologists) and in making available the possibility of performing the most complex therapies in pharmacological sedation under Day Hospital regime.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Oral prevention
  • Early caries
  • Gingivitis
  • Incorrect alignment of teeth and dental arches

Top Procedures:

  • Early caries and malocclusions treatment
  • Milk teeth exchange monitoring
  • 'Tell-show-do’ technique

Oral hygiene and prevention

The Center of Oral Hygiene and Prevention is dedicated to the application of specific treatments for the prevention and the treatment of periodontal pathologies, as well as to the implementation of personalized and specific prevention protocols of the carious pathology from the age of development to adulthood. Particular attention is paid to aesthetic treatments, with the adoption of professional dental whitening methods both in the unit (with the use of laser and / or halogen lamps), and at home (individualized masks). A Pilot Center is also active for the follow-up and maintenance of the new minimally invasive implanta-prosthetic rehabilitations performed with "all on four" and "all on six" methods.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Prevention and treatment of periodontal pathologies

Top Procedures:

  • Innovative techniques for dental bleaching (laser or halogen light) and oral hygiene

Special Needs Dentistry

The Centro San Luigi Ville Turro of Dentistry (part of the San Raffaele Hospital), directed by prof. Enrico Gherlone, deals mainly with Special Dentistry (Special Care Dentistry), which is the branch of dentistry dedicated to individuals with special needs: patients with intellectual disabilities, patients suffering from chronic diseases that reduce mobility and collaboration, people with diseases that render dental treatment critical, socially disadvantaged people. The purpose of special dentistry is to allow these types of patients to be treated in an equal manner to the rest of the population, and to carry out a normal treatment plan.

Particular attention is paid to screening visits for oral diseases in HIV-positive patients, in collaboration with the Infectious Diseases Unit.

Main Pathologies Treated:

  • Rehabilitation of the cervicofacial district in patients operated as a result of neoplasia
  • Focus on patients with general health problems or severe disabilities that may hinder traditional treatment, adopting personalized medical assistance in pre- and post-operative phases with an eventual sedation

 

NOTABLE ADVANCED TECHNOLOGICAL EQUIPMENT

  • 5 Leica Operating Microscopes
  • Diode Laser
  • CEREC CAD-CAM chairside systematic (Intraoral scanner, grinding and milling unit, sintering furnace)
  • Argon-Plasma Reactor