再生医学和基因治疗

圣拉斐尔特里松基因疗法研究院(SR-Tiget)成立于1995年,是医院和Telethon基金会共同成立的。其使命是进行基因和细胞疗法的前沿研究, 并将研究成果转化为以应对遗传疾病为重点的治疗技术。 
该研究所代表的是一个多学科的研究环境,在开发基因和细胞治疗创新策略方面拥有特长, 能使用相关的临床前模型来评估这些治疗方案的疗效和安全性, 并拥有进行早期临床试验的竞争实力。因此, 他和行业内的许多机构成为了合作伙伴,这些合作伙伴通常在法务规范、生产需求、新治疗技术注册和患者推广等方面有着他们资源和实力。
 
部门组成:  
该研究所共有15个研究小组(14个基础研究小组和1个临床研究小组), 有150多位科研人员。
 
基础研究
该研究院覆盖了基础研究、临床前研究和早期临床试验等内容,研究目标如下:

  • 了解多类遗传疾病的遗传基础和病理生理过程,包括自身免疫疾病,血液疾病,遗传性脑白质营养不良和神经退行性疾病
  • 制定新的基因和细胞治疗策略
  • 改善用于这些疗法的基因转移方法的性能和安全性
  • 开发新的技术平台,包括靶向基因组和表观基因编辑等技术

临床研究:
研究所的基因和细胞疗法技术涵盖了面向市场的药物开发的方方面面。值得一提的是, 2016年5月, 欧盟授权通过了Stimvelis(用于治疗ADA-SCID免疫缺陷)的药物的销售许可。Stimvelis是全球首个获批的体外基因疗法药物,它由该研究所和GSK合作研发推出。该药物在治疗ADA-SCID方面获得的成功,为HSC gene therapy (造血干细胞基因治疗法)扩展应用到其他疾病提供了理论依据。自2018年, 针对维斯科特-奥尔德里奇综合症(WAS)和异色性白细胞营养不良(MLD),β地中海贫血和I型粘多糖贮积症(MPS-I)等疾病的研究计划也已经开始。

更多详情,可点击该链接

Regenerative medicine and gene therapy

The San Raffaele Telethon Institute for Gene Therapy (SR-Tiget) was created in 1995 as a joint venture between the Telethon Foundation and Ospedale San Raffaele, with the mission to perform cutting-edge research in gene and cell therapy and to translate its results into therapeutic advances, focusing on genetic diseases.
Overall, SR-Tiget represents a multi-disciplinary research environment, which provides a unique blend of scientific expertise in the development of innovative gene and cell therapy strategies, access to relevant preclinical models to evaluate their efficacy and safety, as well as competence in conducting early phase clinical trials. This provides a fertile ground for alliances with industrial partners, which possess the skills and resources required to address the regulatory hurdles and manufacturing needs to bring new therapies to registration and make them available to patients.

ORGANIZATION
SR-Tiget is organized into 15 research units (14 basic research units and 1 clinical research units) with a total number of over 150 scientists.

BASIC RESEARCH
Research at SR-Tiget spans from basic research to pre-clinical studies to early phase clinical trials according to the following major aims:

  • identifying the genetic bases and the pathophysiological processes underlying several types of inherited diseases, including for autoimmune diseases, hematologic diseases, inherited leukodystrophies and neurodegenerative diseases;
  • developing novel gene and cell therapy strategies;
  • ameliorating the performance and safety of gene transfer employed for these therapies;
  • developing novel technological platforms, including targeted genome and epigenome editing;

CLINICAL RESEARCH
SR-Tiget portfolio of gene and cell therapies now embraces the full spectrum of drug development up to the market. Notably, in May 2016 the European Commission granted marketing authorization for Stimvelis for the treatment of ADA-SCID, a severe form of immunodeficiency. Strimvelis, which is the first approved ex vivo gene therapy worldwide, has been developed at SR-Tiget and brought to the market under a strategic alliance with GSK. The successful results obtained with ADA-SCID provided a rationale for extending the HSC gene therapy approach to other diseases. In particular, Wiskott-Aldrich Syndrome (WAS) and Metachromatic Leukodystrophy (MLD), beta‐thalassemia, and  Mucopolysaccharidosis type I (MPS-I) is planned to start in 2018.

More info can be found here.